Ministry of Natural Resources and the Environment of the Russian Federation  
 
 
The Federal Subsoil Resources Management Agency  
 
 
«Rusgeology» JSC
 

The field season on Spitsbergen is over

In the middle of September the last group of geologists of Spitsbergen prospecting survey party returned from archipelago Spitsbergen after field works . This year the field season continued 2,5 months, the works were carried out in the South-Western part of the archipelago, in Wedel Jarlsberg Land. The work objective was to make the updated geological map outfit for this part of the archipelago and to estimate its resource potential. The works included the route survey of the mountain- glacial region (approximate area 1000 sq. km. ), and specialized research of quaternary sediments. The works were carried out by two detachments.

The first detachment (6 geologists) worked in July near West Torell glacier – the largest valley glacier in Spitsbergen. They investigated Middle and Upper Riphean sedimentary slightly metamorphosed complexes . In August the detachment was relocated to Recherche-fjord where the scientists explored Middle Riphean sedimentary-volcanic complexes, intrusive complexes , and particular features of Holocene sedimentation.


Field camp in Recherche fjord                            Schlich test sampling in Storvica bay


The second detachment (4 scientists) consisted of PMGE and VNIIOkeangeologiya geologists and worked near old settlement Calipso founded at the beginning of the last century by the English mining company. Vendian conglomerate complex and Neopleistocene fluvioglacial deposits were the objects of investigation here; issues of reconstruction of Neopleistocene- Holocene palaeographic situations were also studied on this area.

By results of works the area geological and geomorphological maps on the scale 1:100 000 were made; ore occurrences of non-ferrous metals, and - for the first time in this area - sources of underground mineral waters were revealed.


A.N.Sirotkin

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Copyright © 1962-2018 Правовая информация.      Яндекс.Метрика

Министерство природных ресурсов РФ  
 
 
Федиральное агенство по недропользованию-РОСНЕДРА  
 
 
Акционерное общество "Росгеология"
 

Закончился полевой сезон на Шпицбергене


В середине сентября вернулась с полевых работ на архипелаге Шпицберген последняя группа геологов Шпицбергенской поисково-съёмочной партии. В этом году полевой сезон продолжался 2,5 месяца, а работы проходили в юго-западной части архипелага, на Земле Веделя Ярлсберга. Целью работ являлось создание комплекта обновлённых карт геологического содержание на этот район архипелага и оценка его ресурсного потенциала. Работы включали маршрутные исследования горно-ледниковой области общей площадью около 1000 кв. км и специализированные исследования четвертичных отложений. Работы проводились силами двух отрядов.

Первый отряд (6 геологов) в июле месяце работал в районе ледника Западный Торрель – самого крупного долинного ледника Шпицбергена. Здесь изучались средне- и верхнерифейские осадочные, слабо метаморфизованные комплексы и четвертичные отложения. В августе отряд был переброшен в Речёрч-фьорд, где специалисты партии изучали среднерифейские осадочно-вулканогенные и интрузивные комплексы и особенности голоценового осадконакопления.

 

Полевой лагерь в Речёрч-фьорде                    Отбор шлиховой пробы в бухте Сторвика


Второй отряд (4 специалиста) состоял из геологов ПМГРЭ и ВНИИОкеангеология и работал в районе старого посёлка Калипсо, основанного в начале прошлого века английской горнорудной компанией. Здесь объектом исследований были вендский комплекс конгломератов и неоплейстоценовые флювиогляциальные отложения; также на этом участке изучались вопросы реконструкции палеогеографических обстановок неоплейстоцен-голоценового времени.

По итогам работ подготовлены геологическая и геоморфологическая карты района масштаба 1:100 000, выявлены новые рудопроявления цветных металлов, а также впервые для этого района – источники подземных минеральных вод.


Сироткин А.Н.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Copyright © 1962-2017 Правовая информация.      Яндекс.Метрика