Ministry of Natural Resources and the Environment of the Russian Federation  
 
 
The Federal Subsoil Resources Management Agency  
 
 
«Rusgeology» JSC
 

Geophysical studies of subglacial lake Vostok (Central Antarctica)


        Geophysical studies of the subglacial Lake Vostok occupy a special place among all the works of the JSC PMGRE in Antarctica. This is the most famous and unique of all studied objects. Lake Vostok, the largest subglacial reservoir in the world, is the gratest geographical discovery of the second half of the 20th century. The attention of the world scientific community to this amazing natural phenomenon has not weakened since its discovery to the present. For many years the area of Lake Vostok is a base for the introduction of the most advanced technologies in all fields of science. The direct study of Lake Vostok by direct methods is hampered by the presence of an overlapping ice sheet with a thickness of about 4 km. In connection with this, the geophysical works of the PMGRE have always been at the forefront of all scientific research, since they provided information on the parameters of the water body itself, without which it would be impossible to study it by specialists from other areas. However, their own importance is great, a number of scientifically significant discoveries were made during the works, a high level of their implementation was demonstrated, unique approaches and methods were developed.

The position of the profiles and points of remote research of the PMGE in the region of the subglacial Lake Vostok on the general scheme of geophysical knowledge.

1 - points of reception of seismic refraction soundings in 2008-2015; 2 - points of seismic reflection soundings in 1995-2008; 3 - points of seismic reflection soundings in 1958-60; 4 - gravimetric observations of 1957-64; 5 - seismic-gravimetric investigations of ANARE 1962/63; 6 - domestic ground-based radar surveys 1998-2008; 7 - American aerogeophysical research 2000/01; 8 - domestic aerogeophysical studies of 1987/88; 9 - English-American aerogeophysical research in 1971-72; 10 - Italian aerogeophysical studies in 1999; 11 - the water area of Lake Vostok; 12 - isolines of the day surface; 13 - profile of the planned work by Seismic refraction method.

        PMGE started to carry out complex (seismic and radar) geophysical studies in 1995, that is, almost simultaneously with the world community's recognition of the existence of a large subglacial basin near the station Vostok. The main methods used at the first stage were seismic reflection wave imaging (SRW), the task was to determine the parameters of Lake Vostok water body, and radar profiling, focused on clarifying the position of its shoreline. At the initial stage, special attention was paid to methodological aspects. Unique approaches have been developed that make it possible to obtain high-quality seismic and radar data. An extremely important scientific result of this stage of research was the instrumental confirmation of the presence of an aquatic layer near the station Vostok. For this purpose, special seismic studies have been carried out proving that the subglacial medium is the water body. In addition, vertical seismic profiling (VSP) was performed in the deep ice hole 5G-1 located at Vostok station to determine the acoustic parameters of the glacier, which allowed to determine the distance from the mine face to water and significantly increased the reliability and accuracy of all subsequent measurements.

The thickness of the glacial cover of the subglacial Lake Vostok region according to the data of remote geophysical studies (according to Popov et al., 2011): 1- isopachytes of the ice sheet in meters; cross-section of isolines 150 m; 2- coastline of Lake Vostok.

        In 2002/03 (48 RAE) PMGE carried out the converted-wave seismic explorations in the area of Vostok. In total, 353 distant and remote earthquakes were recorded. The obtained data made it possible to identify the zone of deep fault along the Lake Vostok longitudinal axis, to estimate the amplitude of displacement along its plane, and to establish the block structure of the earth crust in the southern part of Lake Vostok and determine its thickness, which amounted to 34-36 km.

        The period of study of Lake Vostok as a predominantly geographic object continued until 2008. By that time, sufficient data had been obtained to form the full picture of the subglacial and underwater surfaces relief in this region, and to determine the parameters of the water body. It may safely be said that without the materials of PMGE's seismic and radar soundings, which made it possible to describe the main parameters of Lake Vostok, the latter could not be in good reason considered such a significant geographical discovery. It should be noted that when, on February 5, 2012, the drill string at Vostok reached the lake surface, all remote structures based on the received seismic and radar data were confirmed, and their accuracy exceeded all expectations.

The subglacial relief of the Lake Vostok area according to the data of remote geophysical studies (according to Popov et al., 2011): 1- isohypses of the subglacial relief in meters; cross-section of isolines 150 m; 2- sea level (surface WGS-84); 3- coast line of Lake Vostok.

        Despite the fact that seismic-radar studies were not focused on studying the geological structure of this region, the question of the presence and features of the sedimentary cover structure in the Lake Vostok basin was repeatedly raised in the process of obtaining new data. Many seismograms below the surface of the bottom recorded reflections from deeper boundaries, but the methodological features of the Seismic reflection method did not allow making unambiguous conclusions. Since from the point of view of understanding the nature and evolution of the formation of Lake Vostok, the question of the presence and structure of the sedimentary cover is very important, it was decided to concentrate the seismic prospecting capabilities on studying the section of the upper part of the earth's crust in this region. For this purpose, in 2008 (54th RAE), PMGE started seismic studies using the refracted wave method (RWM). The peculiarities of this method are that due to the considerable distance from the signal receiving points to the point of excitation on seismograms, not only reflected waves characterizing the depth of occurrence of the studied boundaries are revealed, but also refracted waves that allow us to determine the propagation velocities of elastic vibrations in rocks of the earth's crust and characterize their composition.

The depth of the subglacial Lake Vostok according to the data of remote geophysical studies (according to Popov et al., 2011) a - the relationship between the depths of the lake and the area occupied by it; 1- isobaths in meters; cross-section of isolines 150 m; 2- coastline of Lake Vostok.

        From 2008 to 2015, 3 refraction wave method profiles were been made (on all three direct and reverse branches of travel time curves were received). One is located on the west side of the lake basin, and the other two are in its southern part. The obtained seismic materials made it possible to determine for the first time the propagation velocities of elastic oscillations below the subglacial surface and to characterize the section of the earth's crust near Lake Vostok.

        At present, thanks to drilling at Vostok station, scientists have approached the opportunity to study the lake by direct methods. However, the question of the causes and history of the formation of this unique reservoir remains open. The answer to this question should be based on information on the geological structure of central Antarctica, which, due to the presence of the powerful ice sheet, is still relatively little known. In view of this, it is planned to continue further remote geophysical studies to study the geological structure and tectonic evolution of the earth's crust in the area of subglacial Lake Vostok.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Copyright © 1962-2017 Правовая информация.      Яндекс.Метрика

Министерство природных ресурсов РФ  
 
 
Федиральное агенство по недропользованию-РОСНЕДРА  
 
 
Акционерное общество "Росгеология"
 

Геофизические исследования подледникового озера Восток (Центральная Антарктида)


        Геофизические исследования подледникового озера Восток занимают особое место среди всех работ АО ПМГРЭ в Антарктиде. Это наиболее известный и уникальный из всех изучаемых объектов. Озеро Восток – самый большой подледниковый водоём в мире, является крупнейшим географическим открытием второй половины 20-го столетия. Внимание мирового научного сообщества к этому удивительному природному феномену не ослабевает с момента его открытия по настоящее время. На протяжении многих лет район озера Восток является плацдармом внедрения самых передовых технологий во всех областях науки. Непосредственное изучение озера Восток прямыми методами затруднено наличием перекрывающего ледникового покрова мощностью около 4 км. В связи с этим, геофизические работы ПМГРЭ всегда находились на переднем крае всех научных исследований, поскольку предоставляли информацию о параметрах самого водного тела, без которой его изучение специалистами других областей было бы невозможно. Однако и собственное их значение велико, в ходе работ совершен ряд научно-значимых открытий, продемонстрирован высокий уровень их исполнения, разработаны уникальные подходы и методики.

Положение профилей и пунктов дистанционных исследований ПМГРЭ в районе подледникового озера Восток на общей схеме геофизической изученности.

1 – пункты приёма сейсмозондирований МПВ 2008–2015 г.г.; 2 – пункты сейсмозондирований МОВ 1995–2008 г.г.; 3 – пункты сейсмозондирований МОВ 1958–60 г.г.; 4 – гравиметрические наблюдения 1957–64 г.г.; 5 – сейсмо-гравиметрические исследования АНАРЭ 1962/63 г.г.; 6 – отечественные наземные радиолокационные исследования 1998–2008 г.г.; 7 – американские аэрогеофизические исследования 2000/01 г.г.; 8 – отечественные аэрогеофизические исследования 1987/88 г.г.; 9 – англо-американские аэрогеофизические исследования 1971–72 г.г.; 10 – итальянские аэрогеофизические исследования 1999 г.; 11 – акватория озера Восток; 12 – изолинии дневной поверхности; 13 – профиль планируемых работ МПВ.

        ПМГРЭ приступила к выполнению комплексных (сейсмических и радиолокационных) геофизических исследований в 1995 г., то есть практически одновременно с признанием мировой общественностью факта существования крупного подледникового водоёма в районе станции Восток. Основными применяемыми методами на первом этапе являлись сейсморазведка методом отраженных волн (МОВ), перед которой стояла задача определения параметров водного тела озера Восток, и радиолокационное профилирование, сосредоточенное на выяснении положения его береговой линии. На начальном этапе особенное внимание уделялось методическим аспектам. Были разработаны уникальные подходы, позволяющие получать качественные сейсмические и радиолокационные данные. Крайне важным научным результатом этого этапа исследований стало инструментальное подтверждение наличия водного слоя в районе станции Восток. Для этого были проведены специальные сейсмические исследования доказывающие, что подледная среда является именно водным телом. Кроме того, в глубокой ледяной скважине 5Г-1, расположенной на станции Восток, было выполнено вертикальное сейсмическое профилирование (ВСП) с целью определения акустических параметров ледника, что позволило определить расстояние от забоя до воды и существенно увеличило достоверность и точность всех последующих измерений.

Мощность ледникового покрова района подледникового озера Восток по данным дистанционных геофизических исследований (по Попов и др., 2011)

1- изопахиты ледникового покрова в метрах; сечение изолиний 150 м; 2- береговая линия озера Восток

        В 2002/03 гг. (48 РАЭ) ПМГРЭ в районе станции Восток выполнены сейсмологические наблюдения методом обменных волн землетрясений (МОВЗ). В общей сложности, было зарегистрировано 353 далеких и удаленных землетрясений. Полученные данные позволили выявить зону глубинного разлома вдоль продольной оси озера Восток, оценить амплитуду смещения вдоль его плоскости, а также установить блоковое строение земной коры в южной части озера Восток и определить её мощность, которая составила 34-36 км.

        Период изучения озера Восток преимущественно как географического объекта продолжался до 2008 г. К этому времени было получено достаточно данных, чтобы сформировать целостное представление о рельефе подледной и подводной поверхностей этого района, а также определить параметры водного тела. Можно сказать, что без материалов сейсмических и радиолокационных зондирований ПМГРЭ, которые позволили описать основные параметры озера Восток, оно не могло бы по праву считаться столь значимым географическим открытием. Стоит отметить, что когда 5 февраля 2012 г. буровой снаряд на станции Восток достиг поверхности озера, все дистанционные построения на основе полученных сейсмических и радиолокационных данных подтвердились, и их точность превзошла все ожидания.

Подлёдный рельеф района подледникового озера Восток по данным дистанционных геофизических исследований (по Попов и др., 2011)

1- изогипсы подлёдного рельефа в метрах; сечение изолиний 150 м; 2- уровень моря (поверхность WGS-84); 3- береговая линия озера Восток.

        Несмотря на то, что сейсмо-радиолокационные исследования не были сосредоточены на изучении геологического строения этого района, в процессе получения новых данных неоднократно поднимался вопрос о наличии и особенностях строения осадочного чехла во впадине озера Восток. На многих сейсмограммах ниже поверхности дна фиксировались отражения от более глубоких границ, но методические особенности МОВ не позволяли сделать однозначных выводов. Поскольку с точки зрения понимания природы и эволюции формирования озера Восток, вопрос о наличии и строении осадочного чехла является очень важным, было принято решение сосредоточить возможности сейсморазведки на изучении разреза верхней части земной коры этого района. С этой целью в 2008 г. (54 РАЭ) ПМГРЭ приступила к выполнению сейсмических исследований методом преломлённых волн (МПВ). Особенности этого метода заключаются в том, что за счет значительного удаления расстановки пунктов приема сигнала от пункта возбуждения на сейсмограммах выявляются не только отраженные волны, характеризующие глубину залегания изучаемых границ, но и преломлённые волны, которые позволяют определить скорости распространения упругих колебаний в породах земной коры и охарактеризовать их состав.

Глубина подледникового озера Восток по данным дистанционных геофизических исследований (по Попов и др., 2011)

а- зависимость между глубинами озера и площадью, им занимаемую; 1- изобаты в метрах; сечение изолиний 150 м; 2- береговая линия озера Восток.

        С 2008 по 2015 г. выполнено 3 профиля МПВ (по всем трём получены прямые и обратные ветки годографов). Один расположен на западном борту котловины озера, а два других в южной её части. Полученные сейсмические материалы позволили впервые определить скорости распространения упругих колебаний ниже подлёдно-подводной поверхности и охарактеризовать разрез земной коры в районе озера Восток.

        В настоящее время благодаря бурению на станции Восток ученые приблизились к возможности изучать озеро непосредственными методами. Однако вопрос о причинах возникновения и истории формирования этого уникального водоёма остаётся открытым. Ответ на этот вопрос должен опираться на информацию о геологическом строении центральной Антарктиды, о котором нам в силу наличия мощного ледникового покрова до сих пор известно достаточно мало. В связи с этим, планируется продолжить дальнейшие дистанционные геофизические исследования с целью изучения геологического строения и тектонической эволюции земной коры в районе подледникового озера Восток.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Copyright © 1962-2017 Правовая информация.      Яндекс.Метрика