Ministry of Natural Resources and the Environment of the Russian Federation  
 
 
The Federal Subsoil Resources Management Agency  
 
 
«Rusgeology» JSC
 

Completion of continental field work in Antarctica as part of the 63 RAE

Geological and geophysical work carried out by JSC PMGE in eastern Antarctica as part of 63 Russian Antarctic Expedition (RAE) was successfully completed.

The work was carried out in two directions: airborne geophysical research and geological research. These works are a continuation of the research begun in the 62nd RAE in the region, covering the territory from 88 º Eastern Longitude up to 101º Eastern Longitude . Transportation of participants of the Expedition to the place of work and back was carried out by the scientific research vessel «Akademik Fedorov» belonging to the AARI FSBI. The Expedition left the port of St. Petersburg on October 26, 2017. Sixteen employees of JSC PMGE took part in the work. Upon completion of the work, on March 14, 2018, employees of the JSC PMGE arrived in St. Petersburg by plane from Cape Town.

Since Antarctica is a continent, 98% covered with ice, the remote research methods are the only way to obtain information about the geological structure of most of its territory. Airborne geophysical studies included airborne magnetic survey and ice radar profiling on an area of 17,500 km2.



Work area overview map


Airborne geophysical studies were conducted between January 5 and February 11, 2018. The site was located 200 km south-west of the Russian Mirny Observatory. The plane An-2 was used as the equipment carrier, based on the landing runway of Mirny Observatory.




Аn-2 on the runway


As a result of the work, a set of maps of an anomalous magnetic field in graphs and isolines, isohypses of the subglacial relief, isolines of the ice cover thickness at a scale of 1: 500,000 was compiled. As a result of subsequent desk processing, information will be obtained on the geological structure and the relief of the territory at present closed by the glacier.



Antarctic landscape from the An-2


Geological studies were conducted in the Bunger Oasis, located 350 km east of the Mirny Observatory. The Bunger Oasis is a large outlet of bedrock with an area of about 300 km2. JSC PMGE performs a consistent study of the territory of the oasis. In the season of the 62nd RAE (2017), geological work was concentrated in the central part of the Bunger Oasis, during the 63rd RAE, its northwestern part was explored. The works were carried out during the period from January 9 to February 15, 2018.



In the geological route


The objects of research were both Precambrian crystalline rocks and loose deposits of the Cenozoic age. As a result of the work, field maps were compiled: a schematic geological map at a scale of 1:50 000 with points of manifestation of minerals and a schematic map of the Cenozoic formations at a scale of 1:50 000 with elements of geomorphology.

A material has been obtained that will allow us to characterize the material composition and age of the rocks composing the territory of the Bunger Oasis, to specify the conditions for their occurrence and relationships, and to establish a sequence of tectonic metamorphic events manifested in the studied territory. Also, a material is collected that allows characterizing the regularities of manifestations of minerals in a given territory. The material composition and spatial arrangement of loose Cenozoic deposits were studied, in which 13 real genetic types were identified.


Vorobiev D.M.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Copyright © 1962-2018 Правовая информация.      Яндекс.Метрика

Министерство природных ресурсов РФ  
 
 
Федиральное агенство по недропользованию-РОСНЕДРА  
 
 
Акционерное общество "Росгеология"
 

Завершение материковых полевых работ в Антарктиде в составе 63 РАЭ

Геолого-геофизические работы, выполнявшиеся АО «ПМГРЭ» в восточной Антарктиде в составе 63 Российской Антарктической Экспедиции (РАЭ) успешно завершены.

Работы проводились в рамках двух направлений: аэрогеофизические исследования и геологические исследования. Данные работы являются продолжением начатых в 62 РАЭ исследований в регионе, охватывающем территорию от 88о в.д. до 101о в.д. Транспортировка участников экспедиции к месту работ и обратно осуществлялась научно-экспедиционным судном «Академик Федоров», принадлежащим ФГБУ ААНИИ. Экспедиция покинула порт Санкт-Петербург 26 октября 2017 г. В них приняло участие 16 сотрудников АО «ПМГРЭ». По завершению работ, 14 марта 2018 года, сотрудники АО «ПМГРЭ» авиарейсом из Кейптауна прибыли в Санкт-Петербург.

Поскольку Антарктида представляет собой материк, на 98% покрытый льдом, дистанционные методы исследования являются единственным способом получения информации о геологическом строении большей части его территории. Аэрогеофизические исследования включали в себя аэромагнитную съемку и радиолокационное профилирование на площади 17 500 км2.



Обзорная карта районов работ


Аэрогеофизические исследования проводились в период с 05 января по 11 февраля 2018 г. Участок работ располагался в 200 км к юго-западу от российской обсерватории Мирный. В качестве носителя аппаратуры использовался самолет Ан-2, базировавшийся на взлетно-посадочной полосе (ВПП) обсерватории Мирный.




Ан-2 на ВПП


В результате работ составлен комплект карт аномального магнитного поля в графиках и изолиниях, изогипс подледного рельефа, изолиний мощности ледового покрова масштаба 1: 500 000. В результате последующей камеральной обработки будут получены сведения о геологическом строении и рельефе территории, в настоящее время закрытой ледником.



Антарктический пейзаж с борта Ан-2


Геологические исследования велись в оазисе Бангера, расположенном в 350 км к востоку от обсерватории Мирный. Оазис Бангера представляет собой крупный выход коренных пород площадью около 300 км2. АО «ПМГРЭ» выполняет последовательное изучение территории оазиса. В сезоне 62 РАЭ (2017 г.) геологические работы были сосредоточены в центральной части оазиса Бангера, в ходе 63 РАЭ исследовалась его северо-западная часть. Работы выполнялись в период с 09 января по 15 февраля 2018 года.



В геологическом маршруте


Объектами исследований являлись как докембрийские кристаллические породы, так и рыхлые отложения кайнозойского возраста. В результате работ составлены полевые карты: схематическая геологическая карта масштаба 1:50 000 с пунктами проявлений полезных ископаемых и схематическая карта кайнозойских образований масштаба 1:50 000 с элементами геоморфологии.

Получен материал, который позволит охарактеризовать вещественный состав и возраст горных пород, слагающих территорию оазиса Бангера, уточнить условия их залегания и взаимоотношения, установить последовательность тектоно-метаморфических событий, проявленных на изученной территории. Также собран материал, позволяющий охарактеризовать закономерности проявлений полезных ископаемых на данной территории. Изучен вещественный состав и пространственное расположение рыхлых кайнозойских отложений, в составе которых выделено 13 вещественно-генетических типов.


Воробьев Д.М.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Copyright © 1962-2018 Правовая информация.      Яндекс.Метрика